CCEI-Related News Articles

The NCF & Teach Cyber Recognize Cyber Educators & Scholarship Winners

The pilot testing for the High School Cybersecurity Curriculum is complete, and our partner, Teach Cyber is now updating the curriculum. Once the curriculum is updated, it will be available for every high school to download.

This curriculum was developed using the High School Cybersecurity Curriculum Guidelines, which were created by Teach Cyber in partnership with the NCF. The Guidelines encouraged curriculum providers, teachers, and industry to create curriculum designed to inspire high school students to pursue a profession in cybersecurity, as well as develop thinkers with a cybersecurity mindset that will enhance any profession they pursue.

However, Teach Cyber took the next step for educators by developing a course to introduce students to the foundational concepts, principles, and tools of cybersecurity. Educators in several states have participated in pilot testing of this course, for which the NCF and Teach Cyber are most grateful.

The NCF and Teach Cyber, would like to acknowledge and thank the following high school teachers who participated in the pilot testing over the past two years:

  • Mariama Bah, Allentown Upper Freehold HS, Allentown, NJ
  • Damian Baraty, Severn School, Severna Park, MD
  • Ashley Benitez Smith, Brunswick HS, Brunswick, MD
  • Robin Burns, North Point HS, Waldorf, MD
  • Beth Cerrone, Innovation Center Public School, Longmont, CO
  • Ben Crenshaw, Canyons Technical Education Center, Sandy, UT
  • TJ Devane, Crofton HS, Crofton, MD
  • Keith Donoway, Snow Hill HS, Snow Hill, MD
  • Diane Glasgow, Leonardtown HS, Leonardtown, MD
  • Eva Gonsalves, Bishop O’Connell HS, Arlington, VA
  • Dave Guyre, Bath County HS, Hot Springs, VA
  • Joanne Lau, Inter-Lakes School, Meredith, NH
  • Katrina Riggleman, Riverbend HS, Fredericksburg, VA
  • Walisa Sabb, North Stafford HS, Stafford, VA
  • Saadia Shah, Chesapeake Math & IT Academy, West Laurel, MD
  • Ronda Stonecipher, Canyon HS, New Braunfels, TX
  • Melody Stahl, North Point HS, Waldorf, MD
  • Nick Yates, Patterson HS, Baltimore, MD
  • Anna-Lisa Wanack, Great Mills HS, Great Mills, MD

Also, the NCF and Teach Cyber have awarded scholarships to high school teachers who applied to participate in the professional development and Cybersecurity Curriculum training, scheduled for Summer 2021. The scholarship winners are as follows:

  • Marisol Beltran Del Rio, Harmony Science Academy, El Paso, TX
  • Michael Cullen, Cedarburg HS, Cedarburg, WI
  • Christopher Dellinger, Triplett Tech, Mt. Jackson, VA
  • Deborah Gray, Alabama School of Math and Science, Mobile, AL
  • Kayla Halsey, Lebanon HS, Lebanon, VA
  • Kyle Kuhlers, Waterloo Career Center, Waterloo, IA
  • Joanna Marcotte, The Founders Academy Public Charter School, Manchester, NH
  • Jeremy McIntyre, East Ridge HS, Chattanooga, TN
  • John Munn, Bruton HS, Williamsburg, VA
  • Matthew Pitner, Keller Center for Advance Learning, Keller, TX
  • Katrina Riggleman, Riverbend HS, Spotsylvania, VA
  • Erica Roberts, Northside College Prep HS, Chicago, IL
  • Kenneth Robinson, Kaiserlautern HS, APO, NY
  • Kenneth Rolon, Grafton HS, Yorktown, VA
  • Jennifer Schultze, Wyoming Virtual Academy, Buffalo, WY
  • Andrew Smith, Woodstock Union HS, Woodstock, VT
  • Kelly Tenbrock, Hudsonville HS, Hudsonville, MI
  • Mary Walz, Sauk Prairie Schools, Prairie du Sac, WI
  • Andrea Wells, Hayfield Secondary, Alexandria, VA

Thus far, over 560 educators in 47 states have downloaded all or portions of the curriculum.